October 1st means new laws are going into effect in Connecticut. Here are a few of the new laws:
Medical Marijuana: A licensed physician may certify an adult patient’s use of cannabis after determining that the patient has a debilitating medical condition and could benefit from the use of marijuana. The act lists certain conditions that qualify as debilitating (e. g. , cancer, AIDS or HIV, and Parkinson’s disease). Among other requirements, patients seeking to use marijuana for palliative purposes must have a written certification by a physician and register with DCP. An individual with the proper credentials will be allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis.
Data Breach: Data breaches reported to consumers shall also be reported to the Attorney General.
Violation of Mechanical Contractor Registration: A mechanical contractor who fails to obtain a certificate of registration and willfully (1) engages his employees in plumbing and piping or heating and cooling work; or supplies an employee who does not hold a valid license to perform such work shall be liable to pay a penalty. The penalty is a $1,000 fine for a first offense and $2,500 for each subsequent offense. Failing to obtain a certificate of registration is a per se violation of the Connecticut Unfair Trade Practices Act (CUTPA).
“Move Over” Law: Highways with two or more lanes in each direction requires a motorist approaching one or more stationary emergency vehicles located upon the travel lane, breakdown lane, or shoulder of said highway to immediately slow to a reasonable speed below the posted speed limit and move over one lane if traveling in the lane adjacent to the location of the emergency vehicle, unless this would be unreasonable or unsafe.
Jury Duty For Breastfeeding Mothers: The Judicial Branch shall provide information on its website for prospective jurors regarding 1) the ability of breastfeeding women to postpone such service and (2) the jury administrator’s contact information so that prospective jurors who need reasonable accommodations may request them.
Cadmium Ban in Children’s Jewelry: The sale, offer to sell or distribution of children’s jewelry containing more than .0075 percent (by weight) of elemental cadmium or its compounds or alloys is prohibited. Cadmium is a known carcinogen.
Increasing the Penalty for Poaching: A person who enters or remains in any premises to hunt, trap, or fish, although the person knows he or she is not licensed or privileged to do so, is guilty of 3rd degree criminal trespass. A violation of this section shall be a Class B misdemeanor.
Increasing the Penalty for Subsequent Offenses of Cruelty to Animals: The act increases the penalties for subsequent offenses to a fine of up to $5,000, imprisonment for up to five years, or both.
Reporting of a Missing Child: It shall be a class A misdemeanor to knowingly fail to report the disappearance of a child under age 12. The duty to report applies to any parent, guardian, or person who has custody or control of, or is supervising, the child and who either does not know the child’s location or has not had contact with him or her for a 24-hour period.
Domestic Violence: The laws governing domestic violence have been expanded to allow for additional support services for victims of domestic violence. This law also requires local police agencies to establish model family violence procedures.
Robbery Committed at a Bank or Credit Union: A person may be guilty of second-degree robbery if he commits a robbery at a bank or credit union by the use of intimidation.
Many of the foregoing laws either expand or limit existing law. It is imperative that you understand what the new laws mean and how these laws interact with existing laws. It is not a defense to aver that you did not know the law. The attorneys at Sullivan Heiser, LLC can assist you with understanding the applicability of the new (and existing) laws.
Contact us today to schedule a consultation.